Take a moment today…to be thankful.

We spend a great deal of time on social media. Our timelines filled with anger, disappointment and sadness. We see everything we hate, piss us off and push it forward. I am guilty of it. I will be guilty of it again tomorrow.

We say we cannot take anymore negativity, but we all get sucked back into it.

So today, I am going to write what I am thankful for and I invite you to do the same…really evaluate and look and not just the standard.

My childhood

Rough. Grew up on government cheese here and there. We chose between utilities at points. But my mom worked two to three jobs and I had an Atari. I had a tv. I had pets. I had love. It taught me strength. It taught me skills in survival. It taught me how to cope and be happy.

My trauma

Little known fact…I was molested by a family friend. Dennis Detronto. Scumbag from hell. Oh well. I learned strength. I learned to go on. I learned to be tough or die.

My teens and 20’s

I joined the Delayed Enlistment Program in the Air Force when I was 16. I was determined to see the world and live outside south side Whittier. I chose AMMO. I spent the first 2 years working unconventional AMMO. In Vegas. Although, I got a few fun TDYs out of there.

Next, I went to RAF Lakenheath. With regular AMMO…I still got pulled for non reg TDY and it made it difficult at times as I could never confide to my friends fully and they never really questioned my disappearances. Thank you for I learned acceptance and bonds.

Those friends are still my closest friends. Bret Noe, Todd Krueger, Ben Evola, Damon Moore, Glen Hehn, Steven Kopelman, Ken Howard and so many more…For you, I learned an unspoken compassion.

I did my time…I travelled…I got injured…

Hand
Brain
Knees
Back

And yet, I smile. Strong. I would not trade one single moment.

Later…

I have 4 marriages so far. Ugh. But I believe in love. I still look forward with hope and a smile in life. I still feel like a child.

My list…

I am thankful for Los Angeles. I love being born and raised here. This is like no other place. Yes, we are crowded. Yes, we are expensive to live here. But I can go to the beach or the mountains or a lake or a river or horse back riding or the desert or disneyland. I have year round weather that allows me to live everyday to the fullest. I am privileged. I know that.

I am thankful for my service. There is a brotherhood (always exceptions to the rules out there) that support each other. I am privileged. I know that.

I am thankful for my country. For only in this country can I marry a woman, be an Occultist, be outspoken, protest if I want, travel where I want, live as I want, start a business at the drop of a whim and become rich off an idea and more without fear. I am privileged. I know that.

I am thankful for my family. I miss my mom. I am thankful for everything she taught me. I love my dad. Best Damn man the world. I love my son. I could not be more proud. I love my wife. She puts up with my shit and laughs. She is sweet. Kind. Loving. talented.

I am thankful for my friends. They are the best people in this world. I could not live without them. They have saved my life more than once. Thank you and I love you all so very deeply!

I am thankful for my fur babies. They are my daily sanity even if they drive my wife crazy.

I am thankful for my enemies…they have never caused me serious damage and I have learned to feel sympathy for them. They have mental never and jealousy problems that are so severe that I would not even like to imagine living their bitter life.

I am thankful for the Roo. That horse. My life will never be the same…and I am thankful and honored by his love. Such a handsome boy. Such a part of my life.

I am thankful for social media. Without it, I would never know some of my newest friends and my life would be somewhat empty and I would not even realize it outright.

I am thankful for all of my travels. All that I learned. All that I have seen. All that I have done. All that I loved and lost…loved and kept.

I am privileged. I know that. Thank you, dear universe…I have truly lived a privileged life with so much more to do…

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

